Captain One Lung SuperModerator

BKXC gets some local MTB Skills Training

Shout out to Brian for having the guts to put his training online in a video format. A lot of people are too proud to admit they need training let alone show the world their bad habits. I'm seriously going to sign up for a skills clinic. Thanks Brian!

Ian Massey is a Bay Area local. TRAIL TECHNIQUE | SF BAY AREA ? BIKE COACHING ? BIKE FITTINGS ? PERSONAL COACHING

Have you ever done a skills clinic?

fc
    stoked Administrator
    Really cool!! I'm a fan of Ian. I'm a fan of coaching.

Most people will NEVER get coaching, yet alone consider it. They firmly believe mountain biking is a self-taught sport.

Many people are self-taught wrong. They just get good at it. I'm a believer that the first step to learning is to first admit that one does not know all and one can get better.

For the ones that consider coaching, there's a severe shortage of good and affordable men's coaching here in the Bay Area. Also, we don't have a place to do it where there's terrain and obstacles with technical progression.

Trek Dirt Series (mostly for women) is pretty darn awesome and they bring a lot of their training obstacles. They're starting to have men's clinics but still very sparse.

Ian does this for a living so take him up on it. Very reasonable and he'll do group or individual sessions.
    IPA will save America

100% agree. fc!

I attend a lot of women's clinics up here in Grass Valley/Roseville and watching people drop bad habits and replace them with proper technique is nothing short of amazing.

TBF does a training series up here and Ian is in the Bay Area. Maybe we could ask about doing an MTBR clinic or series of clinics to keep the numbers manageable? I bet Ian and Health would be down for that.

mtbr member
    A small group of us did a skills clinic with Ian a little while back. He is indeed a great coach and teacher, and of course an amazing rider.