Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Paper or plastic?

Bigtrees/Fuzzy passed last night

One of ours left us for a better place last night. Bigtrees (name taken after his favorite trail in JMP) or Fuzzy (his adoptive Marin nickname) lost his valiant fight against cancer. I take comfort in that he was surrounded by all his friends right until the end.

I met Eric 10 years ago during one of those weekly night rides posted on MTBR. We were doing a timed hill climb at Chabot on Brandon. He lived in the east bay back then. We quickly befriended and started riding together on a regular basis. Eric introduced me to the joys of riding singletrack (I was a noob perfectly happy to ride Chabot fireroads back then). I distinctly remember how scared I was going down Cinderella the first time he took me through Joaquin Miller Park.

In 2005, we even raced at Sea Otter. We then went to Downieville for the first time with EBrider (whom we also met on this board), and had a great time realizing how much faster than us Mark Weir went.

Eric and EBrider clowning on the way up
    Eric Steve 2005.jpg

Eric, EBrider, some stranger and I at Packer Saddle.
    Downieville 2005.jpg

Eric taking a fall at the waterfall.
    Eric fall Dville 2005.jpg

Eric loved riding and enjoyed the social aspect as much as the ride itself. He was always ready for a break and some BSing, which really worked out well for my slow self. That same year, we did an IMBA epic ride in Tahoe (Tahoe City to Western States to Watson lake to TRT back down to Tahoe City). I bonked miserably before Watson lake so we took a nap by the lake. Good times.

Hereís Eric during that ride:
    Eric Tahoe 8-28-05 14.jpg
    Eric glass trail 8-28-05 28.jpg