mtbr member

XTR vs Hope Mini

Hello,

I'm looking at getting a set of disc brakes, and I'm comparing the XTR discs with the Hope Minis.

Both sets will be fairly close in price and weight, and since my SID probably wont take anything bigger than 160mm, which brakeset would you go with and why??

Thanks

Ming

RHRF!

XTR for me...

I have been running XTR disc with XT levers for a 1-1/2 years and they are excellent. I upgraded to Goodridge lines and the power and modulation slow down my 230 lb clyde a$$ in a hurry, with only 160 rotors. I've never used the Hopes, so I can't honestly say if they're any better but my XTR's make riding (and stopping) a pleasure.
    "The secret of joy is the mastery of pain." (Anaïs Nin)

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I'm in the other camp . . .I use Hope Mono Minis (160mm Front/140mm rear) but have never used XTR's.

The Hope's are super sweet. Lightweight, good modulation and even with the little pizza cutter rotor in the rear stop me and have never left me needing more stopping power. I run Dangerboy Levers on mine and wouldn't trade them for anything else.

The main reason I'd overlook Shimano stuff is the integrated shifter stuff and the way they shift. Just not my style. (I <3 SRAM)

Trey

mtbr member
    Now we have one opinion each from their perspective users. This still doesn't help me to make up my mind though LOL

I found this review today on the review board of this site. Can someone verify this???

Thanks

Ming

Submitted by Justin Guy a Cross Country Rider from Christchurch
    Date Reviewed: 3/22/2004 7:10:37 PM
    Duration Product Used: Less than 1 month
    Purchased At: OEM on a Kona Dawg
    Strengths: Reasonably light, easy set-up (subject to the little problem below), use mineral oil c.f. nasty dot5 fluid, work o.k. in most conditions.