Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004

XTR V-brakes vs. Paul Motolites

I'm in the market for v-brakes. Been using XT/XTR v-brakes for the past 12 years or so--they've treated me well. I'm considering another pair of Shimanos, or a pair of Pauls. Does anybody here have experience with both of these brakes? How do the Pauls feel compared to the Shimanos? I think that the Pauls are marginally lighter, but I don't care too much about weight...

mtbr member
    Just curious, why not Avid?

I like rocks
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by limba
    Just curious, why not Avid?

He may be like me, and have had terrible luck with Avid. I have an old hardtail that I currently run mullet style, but I've used plenty of different v-brakes on it, and every Avid I ever used just fell apart. Which is probably just bad luck on my part as almost everyone else raves about them.

I'm still waiting for an ancient Shimano XT to die so I can replace it with a NOS XTR v-brake on the rear of said hardtail. A lot of people have complained of the linkages on Shimanos getting sloppy, but mine have held up fine - that maybe due to the fact that I've always used a brake booster with v-brakes to up the power and keep the canti studs from flexing. No idea really, I just know mine are still going strong.

As to the Paul's, I had some and ended up selling them. Plenty of power but required much more frequent adjustments. I'd probably be more apt to buy Avids over Pauls just due to that factor despite my past bad experiences with Avid.
    If you go looking for trouble, you can be sure it's gaining from behind.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009