mtbr member
    Mar 2004

XTR disc brake problem: jerky feeling.

I am new to the disc brake world. I have brand new XTR calipers and XT rotors on a Spider XVP, and have taken it on two 1 1/2 hour rides so far. This morning I noticed that during hard braking on the front, the bike lurches with every rotation of the wheel. Would this be a warped rotor, or something else?

Thanks.

(aka SS_MB-7)
    Quote Originally Posted by headlands
    I am new to the disc brake world. I have brand new XTR calipers and XT rotors on a Spider XVP, and have taken it on two 1 1/2 hour rides so far. This morning I noticed that during hard braking on the front, the bike lurches with every rotation of the wheel. Would this be a warped rotor, or something else?

Thanks.
    I've used XTRs for ~5 months. It certainly sounds like you might have a warped rotor. Pull up the front-end and give the wheel a spin. Does the rotor look OK? If not, you can gently tweak it back using a wrench.

If the rotor is straight, then something else is the issue. Let me know how the rotor looks and we'll go from there.
    Ride Hard,
    Mike B. (MCM# 7.77)
    http://www.one-speed.com

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Rotor is not warped...

Thanks for your help, Mike.

Just checked the rotor and it's straight as an arrow. Also, the alignment of the rotor with the pads seems good, as well. Went for a quick ride after re-seating the wheel and the jerkiness is still there. What do you think?

Would this possibly have anything to do with the break-in period?

Quote Originally Posted by 1speed_Mike
    I've used XTRs for ~5 months. It certainly sounds like you might have a warped rotor. Pull up the front-end and give the wheel a spin. Does the rotor look OK? If not, you can gently tweak it back using a wrench.

If the rotor is straight, then something else is the issue. Let me know how the rotor looks and we'll go from there.

(aka SS_MB-7)
    Quote Originally Posted by headlands
    Thanks for your help, Mike.