mtbr member
    Aug 2004

New question here. XTR or Avid Ti V brakes – (£60 or £29) ?

Hi all ;-)
    XTR or Avid Ti V brakes – (£60 or £29) should it really be a foregone conclusion ?
    This is my dilemma… I currently have stock (although they seem to work well) V brakes on my MTB, and am definitely going to upgrade. I’ve never ridden on either Avid or Shimano’s! I’m pretty new to MTBs. However, I have only been looking at top of the range V’s as replacements, as I want to (eventually) kit my bike out with the best of what’s available – and hope reliability and longevity comes in to the bargain – I don’t want to have to replace anything for a very long while… Now, XTR’s are roughly £60 each, while I’ve seen the Ti’s for as little as £29 each – on offer of course (think Avid maybe doing away with the Ti’s, since the release of the latest range. So, do I go for the Ti’s or the XTR’s ? Anyone who’s used any of the above, I’d be happy to hear from… Also, I’d be interested to know what levers to go for, to suit each of the above V’s ?
    Would I be mad to go for the XTR’s, bearing in mind the current offer price of the Ti’s ? One last thing… As I say above, briefly, I’m going to be doing many upgrades over the coming months, and feel myself going for XTR for both front and rear mechs, so does this automatically rule out the Ti’s ? I really need help! Btw, I’m not thinking of going for XTR cranks, as I rather fancy a set of Middleburn’s… Many thanks...

mtbr member
    May 2004
    I have found that the XTR's bushings tend to get gummy after a year or two and don't rebound well after that. The best V-brake set up that I ever ran was a set of Avid brakes and levers (lasts longer than the XTR in my opinion too).

mtbr member
    Dec 2003

Neither

Quote Originally Posted by AKBiker