Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2006

why do people still use avid brakes?

it started with the juicies', and now we have the elixirs. for the last 6 years people have been reporting the turkey warble, the sticky pistons and the rubbing.
    i now here the 2012 avid xx is much better than the 2011 xx. a top of the line brake, which cost a lot of money, and they are still fixing it's problems, year after year?

i think its time to except the fact that avid are not that good at making mtb hydraulic disc brakes. no shame in it. they've been trying hard for the past several years, always coming up with an inconsistent product, with the same problems keep showing up year after year.

why do people keep buying them? paying money for an inferior product when there are many good alternatives is crazy in my book.

(i worked as a wrench and never had the misfortune of owning avid brakes myself)

Look at the time!
    well perception of Avids problems may be slightly distorted - they come stock on many bikes, so there are tons of them around. Naturally, more people are going to have trouble with them.

That being said, I have yet to see Avids on anyones bike that don't make noise, rub, or have some other weird problem. I mean, a friend of mine had the first Codes back when they came out, and one of the pistons broke... wtf.
    wanted: Cannondale Lefty w/ V-brake studs

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Chrysler mechanics wonder why Chrysler builds crap.
    Whirlpool repairmen wonder why Whirlpool builds crap.
    Hewlett Packard geeks wonder why Hewlett Packard builds crap.
    Harley Davidson wrenches wonder why Harley... well, Harley actually does build crap.

anyway, see the pattern yet?

psycho cyclo addict