mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Where Did My Brakes Go??

Just picked up my 2011 Giant Anthem X from the LBS after a fork& shock rebuild. It has been at
    the shop over a month for the rebuild, I am a decent mechanic myself and take meticulously good
    care of my bike, but let the shop handle brakes and shock rebuilds. Anyway the bike is in great shape
    in fact it was as dialed as it has ever been when I took it into the shop , and heres the problem
    I go to get it back and am told I need all new brakes. Both the front and rear brake (Avid Elixir R's)
    go almost to the bar before they grab. The shop noticed this after they did the shocks, and did a free
    bleed to try and sort the issue.....which made no difference, I had bled the brakes maybe two months
    before and put in new pads and I am now completely stumped, and rather pissed that my bike is
    out of commossion at the moment.......any ideas other than more $$$$ for new brakes????
    Ridin' fo' dayzz

Wheels - 11' Giant Anthem X1
    -08 Eastern Slash
    -08 Jamis Dragon

mtbr member
    check the adjustment knob on the brakes make sure it isn't set all the way in. Mine were doing the same thing, I adjusted it with an allen key and now they work perfectly.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    If the brakes were working when you dropped of the bike the shop needs to fix it, plain and simple.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    adjustment knob is set where it always is, most of the way out. As for the shop I did try to get them to fix the brakes, they agreed to do a free bleed but that did not fix the issue and they told me they would not do any more and that they had no idea what the problem is. Like I said I do all my own work on my bikes except brakes which I don't know all that much about, I have never had a problem with these brakes before, in fact they have been awesome breaks and I don't really want to buy new ones if at all possible.
    Ridin' fo' dayzz

-08 Eastern Slash
    -08 Jamis Dragon