Go Speed Racer

New question here. When to replace brake pads?

Sorry if this has already been covered (I reviewed all the threads in here and did not see anything).

I have a 2011 Giant Talon 29er 1. The brakes are Giant Root (I believe they are just re-branded Shimano Deore - anyway they use Deore pads).

I have ridden it pretty hard for about a year and a half now. Lately I have been noticing the front brake sounding a little different (not grinding). This is my first time with Disc brakes...

So, my question(s) is... How long do pads usually last, and how do you know when it is time to replace (before you damage the rotor)...

Thanks for any help!

Dennis

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Bike radar has a good article on how to inspect/replace pads.

I'm on my phone and it wont allow me to link the article.

What could go wrong ...
    you should just pull the pads and look at them ... you can tell when there is little pad material left. While you have the pads out go ahead and hit them with some sandpaper to get the glaze off the surface
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by mtbdennis View Post
    Sorry if this has already been covered (I reviewed all the threads in here and did not see anything).

I have a 2011 Giant Talon 29er 1. The brakes are Giant Root (I believe they are just re-branded Shimano Deore - anyway they use Deore pads).

I have ridden it pretty hard for about a year and a half now. Lately I have been noticing the front brake sounding a little different (not grinding). This is my first time with Disc brakes...

So, my question(s) is... How long do pads usually last, and how do you know when it is time to replace (before you damage the rotor)...

Thanks for any help!

Dennis
    Hah really good question.....first time I changed pads I didn't plan it out so well...