mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Whats the Difference

Ok so Im sure this thread will create alot of opinions, but here it goes.

I currently have Avid Juicy 3's on my bike. I have been riding these brakes since 2009 with no problems what so ever.

I constantly read about how much better one brand is over the other, etc, but for the life of me cant figure out what the difference between these brakes are?

When it comes right down to it, if the brake is strong enough to lock up the wheel, then the actual contributing factor to stopping at that point is the friction between the tire and the surface its on. So in this respect they are all plenty strong enough to do the job.

I hear of people talking about modulation, feel, etc, but I can control my low end Juicys just fine, I dont get it?

Can someone actually explain to me why, other than possibly weight I would want to switch to a different set of brakes?

I am looking for actual technical information, not personal feelings of the issue since everyone will have a different opinion regarding the same thing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Last edited by nov0798; 02-11-2012 at 04:42 PM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    I also use juicy 3,in the back.For the front I went with code5,because I wanted the larger brake pad area.The diff between juicy 3 and 5,I believe it is only the brake hose fitting.And as for the avid noise problem for me it does not exist.I also have the new style discs that dont have the center cutouts

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I only recently started with the turkey gobble, but from reading on this board, i simply added a washer under the CPS system to raise the pads slightly, and sure enough, the issue goes away, along with the vibration of the rotor.
    Last edited by nov0798; 02-11-2012 at 08:57 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    If you don't have any issues at all then there is no need to change brakes.