Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2010

What's the big deal about disc brakes?

I am new to disc brakes, but have ridden enough this season to compare vs v-brakes. I know discs have been around a LONG time, but I don't see the benefit. Let me elaborate;

I have been riding xtr v-brakes forever. They have never let me down in 12+ years or xc hardtail riding. It's the singletrack riding that I love to do. Maintenance wise they are pretty easy to dial in while riding, or before/after. Weight wise and cost wise, a lot cheaper.

Now I bought a new ride this year and finally bit the disc-brake bullet. Reason being? Well, nobody really sells v-brake bikes anymore. So I did, and a big fat MEH.

I don't buy that they are less maintenance. Have been back to LBS 2x so far for tuning. Perhaps the mechanic is stupid.

Very fidgety and tricky if you dare take your tire off and squeeze the lever.

The one-finger breaking? Doesn't matter to me. I have 5 fingers, four of which I can use to break.

Added weight.

So, I ask - what's the deal?

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I pretty much had the same point of view as you until I had a decent wet ride. I always thought my V's were pretty consistent until then. They really let me down that day. I am running hydro disc now and have never looked back. Especially since the trail run on now has a wet section. Now, If only I can get them to stop squealing like a turkey (running Avid Juicy 5's).

Granted, I don't have experience with XTR v-brakes so I don't know how they fair in wet conditions....just my 2 cents

mtbr member
    Stop trolling, ride more, you'll figure it out.

Former lurker!
    May 2011
    Less maintenance - No way..
    One finger braking - Maybe .. But why when you can easily spare 2 fingers for braking?

Do under no circumstance press the lever while the wheel is off. Some brakes are not at all cooperative when it comes to pressing the pistons back in.