mtbr member
    Jan 2005

What rotor size do I use.

I have an international standard disc mount on the front and rear of my newly purshased frame. I am new to discs and do not know what size rotor I need. If I buy a set of brakes with everything inclusive will it make things easier for me when I am assembling it. something I can just plug and play.
    When I buy the brakes I'll need some help on how I should put them on.

see ya
    ionit.

Freshly Fujified

Some clarification

Quote Originally Posted by Ionit
    I have an international standard disc mount on the front and rear of my newly purshased frame. I am new to discs and do not know what size rotor I need. If I buy a set of brakes with everything inclusive will it make things easier for me when I am assembling it. something I can just plug and play.
    When I buy the brakes I'll need some help on how I should put them on.

see ya
    ionit.

Rotor size will be dictated by the type of riding you do, your weight, and the specifications dictated by the fork and frame manufacturer. Your ISO mounts on both frame and fork should definitely handle the caliper mounts for brakes with 6 " rotors. Many will even handle 7" rotors. My bike has a low-end Marzocchi fork, and I have 7" rotors front and rear, as I weigh 230+ lbs, and I want the braking power and heat dissipation the larger rotors offer. I would stay away from anything more than 6" if the stanchions on your fork are less than 30 mm. For 8" rotors, your bike and fork should probably be built up as a freeride or downhill rig, as they are built to withstand the punishment and can accommodate the larger brake rotors.

Again, consult with your frame and fork manufacturers for what they recommend.

Clyde
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Call_me_Clyde