Thread: Wavy Rotors

J_B
    3056-BigGameHunter

Wavy Rotors

Good, Bad or Hype?

I was thinking of changing my 8" Hayes rotors to the Galfer rotors. Does anyone have some time on the Galfer wavy rotors or similar rotors? Am I just going to waste my money?

mmm, carbon
    Jan 2004
    Mostly hype, in my opinion. I've been running the Juicys for a few months now, and I don't really buy into the rotor cleaning thing. On the other hand I make a point of cleaning my rotors manually anyway, so maybe if you didn't it would make more of a difference. I've put a round rotor on for comparison. In general I find that the round rotor tends to squeel less. Also, it may just be in my head, but I feel the round rotor has slightly more power.

On the plus side, wavy rotors tend to look really cool, but that's about all I can come up with. Mr Galfer can keep his patent as far as I'm concerned, it's not worth much.

EDIT: [cue the Galfer dude posting that Avid are doing it ALL WRONG]

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by J_B
    Good, Bad or Hype?

I was thinking of changing my 8" Hayes rotors to the Galfer rotors. Does anyone have some time on the Galfer wavy rotors or similar rotors? Am I just going to waste my money?
    I have been running Galfers since last summer. I there is no real difference in feel or power but my pads have lasted longer, especially in the wet. I like 'em. Wish they came with mounting bolts.

I do not think they are worth getting if your stock rotors are in good shape. As replacements (because of damage or wear) or for a second wheelset they are a must buy for me.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

www.derbyrims.com

Clears mud much better

Quote Originally Posted by J_B
    Good, Bad or Hype?