mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Trying to fix my sons v brakes

I'm somewhat new to wrenching on bikes, very experienced wrenching on cars.
    Anyway, I picked up a used Specialized hot rock 24 yesterday for my son.
    All looked well on the bike, rode it up and down the street, shifted and stopped fine. It has black rims that looked like they were new, tires are new. All is well.
    Get it home and he rides it a bit comes back in the house and says dad, there's a problem.
    So here's my problem. If he pulls the back brake hard to skid like kids love to do, the pads get stuck to the rim. After studying, checking, adjusting, more spring tension, etc....

What it looks to me like is that the pad's left pad material on the rim and then when you hard stop, the pads are sticking to the material on the rim. I rode the bike myself and actually smelled the brakes being hot.
    I got some new pads from the local bike shop. I asked the guy about my problem and he looked at me like I had two heads and just said here's new pads.
    Thinking maybe these are cheap walmart pads or something, I got new ones. I've tried cleaning the rim with a rag and rubbing alcohol but it's not getting all the material off and I still have the same issue. Hitting the brakes with the wheel not rotating, everything moves and returns as it should as soon as I spin the wheel and hit the brakes with pressure, the pad sticks to the rim. It's not overlapping the edge of the rim, it's not hung up on the tire and it's not a cable because I can disconnect the cable and the pad is still stuck to the rim. Nothing is binding in the arm and the arm posts are lubed.
    Since the rims are shiny black I'm hesitant to hit the wheels with sandpaper or a scotch pad to try and take the material off. My next idea was to take the tire off and try some automotive brake cleaner. Hoping not to mess up the paint or whatever it is that makes the rim black.

Any suggestions on fixing my problem.

Thanks,
    Nick