I <3 29ers

Titanium brake booster?

Looking into brake boosters for my ride. Noticed there are titanium boosters out there. Is it just me, or does this seem counter-intuitive? A naturally flexible material to stiffen brake posts ..... just doesn't seem right.

Anyone have any experience with these? Is there any benefit, other then saying "it's tiiiiiiii!"?????

PATIA!
    I ..... need ..... DIRT!!!!!

... and cookies.

ride hard take risks
    Ihave used aluminum only, im with you though Ti brake flexer.

Gone riding
    Jan 2004
    I'm no expert, but it sounds like a strange move... I guess if it was thick enough it might have some effect.

I used to run a shimano carbon brake booster on my light weight aluminium hardtail, and it noticeably made a huge difference.

Still have it floating around here somewhere...

Dave.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    I would agree with you. Wrong material for the job and would cost more to boot.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

I <3 29ers
    Okay, at least I know i'm thinking in the right terms, then. Thanks all!

Seeing as how Low_Rider mentioned it - what about carbon boosters? Carbon is supposed to be stiff, but I can't help but think that a well designed aluminum booster is better (best?) for the job (okay okay, i'm comparing with what I know about frame's - sue me!).

Thoughts? Searching doens't seem to bring up much with carbon boosters. (shrug)

I ask because i'm in the market and right now i'm pretty content with my experiences with Tektro T-2 boosters. I need another one and while I don't mind experimenting I don't want to go spending tons of time/money on this. I need that for other more important areas.

PATIA!
    I ..... need ..... DIRT!!!!!

... and cookies.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewTO
    Okay, at least I know i'm thinking in the right terms, then. Thanks all!