Thread: Ti Rotors?

mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Ti Rotors?

Any thoughts on if there is a market for titanium rotors?
    Im a designer at Max Mfg in Bend, OR and drew up a design last night.
    I just cut a couple sets for my single speed and thought I might try to sell em.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ti Rotors?-cimg2442.jpg  

Ventana La Bruja
    Piked,
    Hadley'd
    Hugi'd
    Hucked and Chucked..........

Custom built CroMo Cruzer SS

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    There might be, depending on the cost id assume?

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Also depends on braking performance. give em a try, experiment with different pad compounds. what is the weight difference vs alloy?

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I dont notice a difference from the stock Avid stainless rotors....running stock pads in my Ultimates.
    The weight is noticeable....havent put em on a scale......
    Ventana La Bruja
    Piked,
    Hadley'd
    Hugi'd
    Hucked and Chucked..........

Custom built CroMo Cruzer SS

Doesntplaywellwithmorons!
    LOTS of companies have tried titanium for rotors... it doesn't work. Ti has a really poor heat conductivity rate so you end up with squealing brakes and generally over-heated pads.

The Bubble Wrap Hysteria
    Thermal Conductivity:

3Al/2.5V Titanium 8.30 W/m-K

7075-T6 Aluminum 130 W/m-K

300 Series Stainless Steel 11.6-18.7 W/m-K

Meh.
    Coefficient of friction is also different. Hardness of material is different.

That design with straight legs for the rotors is not particularly inspiring.

Lots of liability concerns when you sell a product. Are you an engineer? Have you run stress analysis? Have you tested these rotors to failure on a brake dyno or in real life?

Doesntplaywellwithmorons!