mtbr junior member

thinkness of the rotorsSsSs....

i am going to build a wheelset with the new 04 XT hubs, so i have to use the center-locked rotor ST-M765(160mm).

however, i want to use the avid bbdb(160mm) too~~
    i am wondering about the compatibility.

their diameters are the same, but how about their thickness???

anybody here can help me figure it out? thank you very much~

Crank monkey

I'm no expert, but it should work...

The Avids are adjustable enough that you should be able to make them fit.

I think if you do a search, you might find that others have already done this. I seem to remember reading it somewhere on this board a while ago.
    Cheers,
    Smytty

"El Whatever"
    Whatever it turns out let me know... Shimano is upgrading the LX to centerlocks and hydros. I might be interested about getting the LX hub and would use it with my Avids... and keep off from Shimano's Dual Control levers!!

I don't know the answer... but my bet is that the Shimano rotor braking surface is a bit narrower and knowing Shimano policies they might have done this for you to use their products only.
    Check my Site

Chrome Toaster
    They will work. Keep in mind the pistons are capable of adjusting to the rotor width. They need to be able to do this as the pad wears anyway.

Chrome Toaster
    Quote Originally Posted by Warp2003
    Whatever it turns out let me know... Shimano is upgrading the LX to centerlocks and hydros. I might be interested about getting the LX hub and would use it with my Avids... and keep off from Shimano's Dual Control levers!!

I don't know the answer... but my bet is that the Shimano rotor braking surface is a bit narrower and knowing Shimano policies they might have done this for you to use their products only.
    Whats wrong with the dual controls?