mtbr member

thinking of upgrading...

my 2012 Trek Marlin, can use some better brakes.

Not a weight issue, I'd just like some better performance.

I am a total newb to upgrades. My last bike was purchased used and already topped out.

What do I need? can I keep my 160mm rotors if I bought, say a set of BB5's?

Do I re-use my stock cable?

Is it a PIA to swap a brake set?

Are they bike specific, or universal mount?

What brake set would you recommend for a 30 lb. 29er these days...(rider on a budget)

Thanks all!!
    2012 Trek Marlin BB7's / SD-7's, G3's, and Kenda Nevegals

My website: www.n2ovette.com

mtbr member
    If you are going to get mech, go BB7. You cannot beat it. Make sure you get the MTB ones.

As for rotors - depends on what you are currently running, but they should work.

I would personally use fresh cables.

Swapping a brake set is easy. If you have not done it before, just take it slow, have patience and learn. It is good knowledge to have.

Universal mount - could be either post mount or IS. Make sure you get the correct ones or adaptors.

Any modern brake set should do well. If mech, go BB7 (as said above). Otherwise, you could do worse than trying SLX/XT or lower end Elixirs.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003
    "What do I need? can I keep my 160mm rotors if I bought, say a set of BB5's?"

As Shalom noted, if you going mechanical pony up and go BB7. The BB5s won't be much of an upgrade over the stock Tektro Novelas that came on the bike to begin with. Also Avid brakes come with rotors. The BB7 comes with the G2 Clean Sweep rotors in your choice of size. I would use them. They are better than the rotors that come with the Novelas. Some rotors are compatible between manufacturers. But until you know what to look for when checking for compatibility it's better to go with the specific rotors that come with a given manufacturers brakes.

"Do I re-use my stock cable?"