mtbr member
    Nov 2010

Synthetic DOT 3 & 4 Brake Fluid?

I'm getting ready to install a new set of Formula Oro K24 brakes. The manual calls for DOT 4 brake fluid. I stopped in at Autozone and the closest thing I could find is a bottle of "Valvoline Synthetic DOT 3 & 4 Brake Fluid". Is this the right stuff? This is my first time installing brakes, so I want to make sure I do it right. Thanks for your help.

A bike brought me here!
    That was an interesting question so I Googled it.... Said the DOT designation is a temperature thing and is based on polyethylene glycol.... So I would think a DOT 3-4 would be acceptable, something like all season oil!

poikaa
    "I don't ride a bike, I'm the pilot!"

Never trust a fart
    You can use DOT 3/4 OR DOT 5.1.

Do not use DOT 5. Its not compatible with the others.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Thanks for the feedback folks. Now for the installation adventure!

A bike brought me here!
    Keep us up to speed about your "fluid" brakes!

poikaa
    "I don't ride a bike, I'm the pilot!"

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    OK, I finally had time to install the brakes. Turns out they came with brake fluid in them. After I got the rotors, calipers and levers all installed I found them to be a little too soft. Especially the rear brake. The lever reaches all the way back to my other fingers that are resting on the handlebar grip.

Since I ordered the Formula bleed kit, I thought I would go ahead and bleed the rear brake to see if it was an air bubble problem causing the "softness". I definitely got some air bubbles out while bleeding, but after I finished and set them back up to operate, they were still way too squishy.