mtbr member

New question here. Swapping brake hoses - DOT fluid to mineral oil okay?

I am looking to upgrade my old Juicy 5s to some new Shimano XT M785s. I have a nice set of Jagwire hose that I've been using on my Juicy 5s for the last 2 years. Here's my question:

Will the hoses be okay to swap from the DOT fluid to the mineral oil for the Shimanos? Obviously, I would have to clean the hoses well and buy a new fitting kit from Jagwire. I guess my main concern is getting the hoses clean enough from the DOT fluid to make the swap.

Anyone have any experience with this sort of thing?

Thanks!
    - KERSH -

mtbr member
    no experience with the diff fluid types. i have changed hoses due to color choice with great success on my J 5's and hayes strokers. whats the reason for changing fluids??

thread crapper
    Feb 2008
    I can't see any reason you couldn't flush out the old fluid with some new stuff. Might not be the most cost effective situation, but I can't see why it wouldn't work.

NV - Shimano uses mineral oil, not DOT fluids like Hayes and Avid.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by scottap2003 View Post
    NV - Shimano uses mineral oil, not DOT fluids like Hayes and Avid.
    ahhh shows how little i know of them.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by scottap2003 View Post
    Might not be the most cost effective situation, but I can't see why it wouldn't work.
    I have the matching red hoses from Jagwire for my derailleur cables and my brake hoses. Plus, the cables are already cut to the correct length. I think the fitting kit from Jagwire is just over $15 so it shouldn't be too much extra.

You're saying to flush out the lines with mineral oil? Does water affect mineral oil like it does DOT fluid? I thought about running water through them, then spraying them out with the air compressor, then letting them dry for a day or two. I just don't know if that would hurt anything though.
    - KERSH -

mtbr member
    Sep 2012