mtbr member
    Jan 2005

New question here. Splined rotors... Shimano vs. Avid... Compatability?

I'm new to disc brakes. I've just received a brand new bike from an online dealer with Avid mech 5's and XT rotors. Should there be a compatability issue here? My LBS noticed that the Avid pads' surfaces are bigger than the XT rotors' braking surfaces. This is the way my bike (which I purchased from a pre-existing online build sheet) was spec'd from the online shop, and I have experienced pulsing with my rear brake. The new XT hubs require the XT or XTR splined rotor vs. normal 6-bolt, which apparently limits rotor selection to Shimano. Anyone else have experience with this? Are there other splined rotors out there that would be compatable with my Avid mech if the XT's aren't?

I liked the simplicity of the mech brake, and the rave reviews of the Avid mech sold me. However, I'm not entirely convinced that they're compatable with the XT rotor with performance thus far. I wish I knew about the splined hub thing before purchasing the bike spec'd the way it was. I'm thinking about selling my Avid mech setup (SD-7 levers, flack jacket cables, and Avid mech 5 calipers) and investing in XT or XTR hydros for piece of mind. Are there other caliper options (mech OR hydro aside from Shimano) that would be compatable with my splined XT hubs and XT rotors?

Can anyone recommend a lightweight and relatively hassle-free brake setup that would allow me to keep my wheels "as is"? I'm getting my hands more dirty with my bike every day, but I'm not a trained mechanic. I have an inherent fear of a hydro line braking on me on an epic ride...thus my interest in mechs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    The pulsing is probably from the pads grabbing the rotor arms.

You can get centerlock to 6 bolt rotor adaptors. I would call the place you bought the bike and ask them to exchange your rotors.
    mtbtires.com