mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Smokin' Hope hydro deal....anyone ever use them?

Seems like a great deal on some closeout Hope hydros...has anyone run them in the past?

link to SPAM post deleted (not evilboytwin's post)

Quote Originally Posted by evilboytwin
    Seems like a great deal on some closeout Hope hydros...has anyone run them in the past?
    I'd be skeptical about using a closed system hydro if you ride extended downhills.

mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Good to know.....

Quote Originally Posted by frank n. beans
    I'd be skeptical about using a closed system hydro if you ride extended downhills.
    I'm sort of a 'noob at this...so I'll ask a dumb question. What's the problem with a 'closed system' for extended downhills? What do you consider 'extended'?

Would these be better?

link to SPAM post deleted (not evilboytwin's post)

Riding a Rig.

Listen!

I'm not an expert... But, I thinkf in an open system when the fluid expands it is able to go back into a reservor, in a closed system when the fluid expand it has nowhere to go and it has the same effect as as pulling the lever. So that could result in your brakes overheating and locking up I think.' I would just go for Hayes HFX-9s or Avid Juicy 7's.

Avid Juicy 7: 150
    Hayes HFX-9: 100

Either of them would be good choices. If your not set on hydro look at Avid Mechs...
    "Physics is timeless. Marketing and bs never lasts. Thats been proven time and time again."
    -Dave Weagle

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulcan
    I'm not an expert... But, I thinkf in an open system when the fluid expands it is able to go back into a reservor, in a closed system when the fluid expand it has nowhere to go and it has the same effect as as pulling the lever. So that could result in your brakes overheating and locking up I think.' I would just go for Hayes HFX-9s or Avid Juicy 7's.

Avid Juicy 7: http://tinyurl.com/3lhso -- 150
    Hayes HFX-9: http://tinyurl.com/6hc7j -- 100