mtbr member

Sintered Pads & Wet Weather | Commuting Problem.

I have Shimano Alfine Hydraulic brakes on my main commuter bike. I have plenty of experience with Shimano Hydros on my other bikes, but I'm having a problem with frequent pad glazing on these brakes.

I often ride at least 20 miles a day, which in Portland OR usually means 20 miles in pouring rain. Water from the road, falling from the sky, as well as water spraying down from my front fender tends to saturate my front brake pads & rotor so much that they lose significant power and become extremely noisy.

Dragging the brake on a downhill to the point where I can see the water boiling off the pads/rotor is the only way to get my brake power back, plus I get to watch steam shooting off my front brake as I do it.

However, I find that my pads glaze very frequently, and once glazed, they produce noise, have reduced braking power, and give a quite a lot of negative lever feedback. Sometimes they will glaze in only a week or two. I have to pull and sand the pads, and then re-bed them to get them back to normal.

Resin pads don't have a problem with glazing, but they wear out ridiculously fast. I've used both the Shimano M03 Metal and currently EBC Gold pads. The EBC pads tend to glaze quicker, but the Shimano's eventually do as well.

Whats really weird is that the rear brake never has any problems. I can leave my bike parked outside in the rain four hours, and they will be strong and silent as soon as I hop on the bike.

Anyone got any ideas? I'm running 160/160 rotors, and 160 is the max rotor for my fork.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Maybe a different rotor? Different pads would be my first suggestion, but it sounds like it was your first suggestion too.