steep fast and loose :)

Shimano XTR Trail or Hope Tech Evo X2 ?

thoughts / opinion / experience ?

TIA

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    I have not ridden the X2, but own a set of hope tech m4s. And the main difference with Hope brakes over the competition is modulation/feel/reliability. I have heard great things about xtr brakes as well, and from what I have read about the new xtr is that they are pretty powerful. But with little modulation, this is what I've read, so I have no experience to testify whether that is true or not. But its nothing you cant get use to, just takes a little more awareness. I think Aron Gwin uses it on some courses on his Session 9.9, so they must have some good power.

After owning my m4s for a year now, they work superbly and have never let me down. No noises, no weird feeling through the levers, they just work. The added modulation over the competition gets you out of those tricky loose, steep sections that usually cause normal brakes to lock up skid. The only downside to the tech lever is that they designed the cap to not fit flush against the master cylinder, so you get a little leaking. Now I don't know if they've resolved it, but that is an issue with mine. I took the cap off after 7 months of riding and checked the fluid; barely any, not even a noticeable amount was missing. So even though there is brake residue on the caps, not much if any is coming out.

So even with that issue, I would go out and buy another set.

What type of riding do you do?
    08 Enduro: '12 Van RC2, Push DHX 5 coil, Flow EX, Hope m4, 750mm bar, Blacklite Post.

Website
    http://all-mtn.com/

Quote Originally Posted by camarosam View Post