29 some of the time...

Shimano XT Caliper noise

I have been running Shimano deore brakes for the last couple of seasons on my hardtail. I have had hayes elcamino and nines in there as well on some of my bikes. Prior to the shimano I had juicy sevens (good brakes, but could never get lever feel to my liking).

I have been running an xt setup on my bike for the last 4 months. In that time the rear caliper has been very hard to keep quiet. At this point I have changed the rotor and pads. That didn't fix it. So I have added a chamfer to the outer edges of the pad (EBC Gold, sintered pad) and that seems to have fixed it. Now the front has started to howl (I sanded the pads and put on a new rotor). I put on a set of M07S pads today, and completely quieted the fronts as well as toned them down a bit.

Okay, is it totally common for XT or Shimano brakes to just be noisy? I get that impression after talking to a couple of local mechanics and a few riding friends. What is your experience with shimano hydraulic brakes?? I can't say that I ever had issues with the cheap deore setups that I ran, but obviously my current XT setup has been a lot of trial and error.

MTBR Demi-God
    I run Shimano LX and XT brakes. The XTs came stock, and I havent had any problems with that one yet- its been very quiet, although they do squeal when wet.

The LX one was a bit noise (the drag noise) when I first installed them. It was a real paint to get them aligned correctly to the rotor. But after the alignment was made properly, they were very quiet as well- but howled when they were wet.

Personally, I think that Shimano makes good brakes, and they are very quiet.

Are you using the rotor that came with your Shimano calipers, or an aftermarket/different branded one?

Meh.
    LX brakes shouldn't be hard to center. Post mount caliper attached to an adapter.

XTR brakes were rather noisy when paired with certain wheels and rotors. Something about reasonance and whatnot.