mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Shimano Mineral Oil

Is anyone using something besides the ultra expensive Shimano mineral oil in Shimano disc brakes?

I've read that Pentosin CHF 7.1 or Magura Royal Blood can be used. Has anyone had any experience with these replacements?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Smile Finish Line

I have been using Finish Line high performance mineral oil since last summer on my XT 765 brakes and it is just as smooth as the Shimano was. I can't tell a difference except for the fact that it is much less expensive!

http://www.finishlineusa.com/products/brake-fluid.htm

It's the axle

Generic mineral oil, here.

Baby oil. Straight from the Dollar store. 99 cents.

I've been using on my XTR brakes for four years. No problem.

I'm getting a brand new bike with new XTR brakes. I really thought about getting that $15 bottle of Shimano oil. Nope. Baby oil is going in these too.

And I might add I do a lot of very long steep downhills. Never a prob.

Meh.
    It is not recommended to use generic mineral oil, you never know what the viscosity might be, or what other additives it may have in it. I would only use it as a last resort.

We have a bottle of the Finish Line stuff at work, works just fine.

I'm not sure, but Shimano may void your warranty if you don't use Shimano mineral oil, I know that Magura voids your warranty if you don't use Magura branded mineral oil.

I-S
    Magurified
    But the Magura stuff isn't stupid money either. I don't see why you couldn't use Magura oil in the shimano brakes.

Meh.
    You can use the Magura oil in Shimano brakes, the viscosity is a little different though.

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaac Sibson
    But the Magura stuff isn't stupid money either. I don't see why you couldn't use Magura oil in the shimano brakes.