Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Rotor Size Question.....

1K views 22 replies 8 participants last post by  andykrow 
#1 ·
I am not an engineer nor am I mechanically inclined. I was however, able to setup a pair of BB7's on my bike with ease. While I was setting up the brakes, a question popped into my head, and I just can't seem to comprehend the answer.

I know bigger rotors provide better stopping power. Bigger rotors are recommended for more aggressive riding and bigger riders. But my question is, why? Why does a bigger rotor give more stopping power? The contact surface area between the brake pad and the rotor remain the same regardless of the size of the rotor, so why does a 185mm rotor provide more stopping power than a 160mm? Or for that matter, why does a 203mm provide more power than a 185mm rotor?

Am I missing something here?

#2 ·
Two factors:

1. Lever Arm. The larger the rotor diameter, the longer the lever arm of the caliper acting on the hub. This can be simulated by spinning a rim at a high speed, then using your finger pressed alternately against the hub flange then against the rim to slow it.

2. Heat Dissipation. The greater rotor (obviously) consists of more material, which can provide additional heat transfer paths. Cool brakes equal happy brakes.

#3 ·
Speedub.Nate said:
Two factors:

1. Lever Arm. The larger the rotor diameter, the longer the lever arm of the caliper acting on the hub. This can be simulated by spinning a rim at a high speed, then using your finger pressed alternately against the hub flange then against the rim to slow it.

2. Heat Dissipation. The greater rotor (obviously) consists of more material, which can provide additional heat transfer paths. Cool brakes equal happy brakes.