mtbr member
    Oct 2013

rotor size - how much difference in real world?

I currently have Elixir 9 front and rear with 160mm on my 29er hardtail.

I don't have any complaints really, but like most gear-heads I'm always curious...

If I were to up-size to 180mm rotors, how much real-world braking difference would I experience?

thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I ran 160's for years. Read about decreased modulation w/ larger rotors when disc brakes first came out. After I started riding really agressive trail I found the 160's overheating, a switch to 180's then 203's really kept the braking consistant. I currently run a 203 front & 180 rear on my XC / trail bike.

Fat-tired Roadie
    My new bike has a 180 on the front. My old one has a 160. Can't say I can tell a difference.

To mess up the comparison, I did also move from 26" wheels to 29" wheels. I don't think that matters, though.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Quote Originally Posted by gripper35 View Post
    I currently have Elixir 9 front and rear with 160mm on my 29er hardtail.

I don't have any complaints really, but like most gear-heads I'm always curious...

If I were to up-size to 180mm rotors, how much real-world braking difference would I experience?

thanks in advance
    Makes a difference on long descents. The brake stays cooler and does not lose (as much) power.

Reduces hand effort for the same braking.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    thanks very much for the info. I think I want to look into this. I have several really long, steep descents on my favorite local loop.

I believe I would simply need some new 180mm (or 203mm) HS1 rotors.
    And I would need some kind of new bracket/mounting kit front and rear.
    Or am I mistaken?

Any other advice greatly appreciated.

Fat-tired Roadie
    You'd need new adapters. It's a standard part, though.