mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Replacing hose on Formula Oro K18

Greetings. Looks like I'm in the right place

I recently bought the K18 brakes and the front hose is much too short. I've bought the aftermarket hose kit so I can cut to the required length and reinstall the brake. Now I'm a bit of a novice really when it comes to disc brakes and I've never even bled disc brakes before. Though I'm a reasonably competent mechanic having put together my bike from the frame upwards. I gather I will need to do three things 1) remove the Dot 4 oil from the front brake 2) Cut and install the new hose 3) Bleed the brakes

I think I will be OK with bleeding the brakes (I at least have instructions for that!) but I'm unsure how I would proceed with steps 1 and 2. Also the hose kit came with one end already fitted, should this end go at the brake end or the caliper end? Are the other bits that came with it for connecting to the other end of the hose? Those bits look slightly different to what the current setup looks like. Do I need to remove bits from the existing hose and reuse them?

If it helps, this is what I bought http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...?ModelID=22471

I also have the Formula Bleed kit.

Any help much appreciated.

STINKY TOFU

hope this helps