mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Problem with tektro draco

Hi, I just want to ask for help with my fellow mtbr forum member. Its about my brakes, the othe day I adjusted the brake lever to make it closer to the bar so my fingers can reach it real well but after I adjusted it I've notices that the braking power has gone, I can still brake but not as powerful as before I adjusted the lever. Do I need to do something to bring back the stopping power. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I have a friend whose brakes are these. Sort of same thing happened to his brakes, levers felt spongy, no braking power at all. I say bin it and get Shimano replacements.

Otherwise, have it bled.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Thanks , I think ill just follow ur advise to bin it and buy a new set, since bleed kit and pads cost morethan half of the new brakeset.
    Shimano xt or slx?

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I've got no experience with XT brakes. I currently use M675 SLX. I've read/heard a lot saying the 2012 XT brakes are awesome. Also have read/heard some having QC issues with the same XT brakes (leaks from the reservior or caliper, some having replaced the whole thing because the leaks couldn't be solved). Take note, seems there are some 2012 XT lemons, and there are some that are just perfect. I've seen two guys with the same brakes, one having no complaints, the other pissed off because his leaks.

It's because of those issues with the 2012 XT brakes (I didn't want to gamble by spending on something that could be from the lemon batch) that I went with the cheaper but very good M675 SLX (basically the M666 but with some very slight cosmetic and negligible weight differences). I've had zero problems with the M675 and have found them stopping my 200+lbs + roughly 30lb bike on the trail using Avid G3CS 160mm (only) rotors. Prior to M675, I was using the 2012 Deore hydros which were ok, but the 675 makes it feel night and day.