mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Problem with Hayes brakes sticking

I have a Jamis Dakar xlt that came with Hayes hydrolic brakes. I have not been able to adjust the brakes so they don't rub. My lbs told me that its almost impossible to get Hayes brakes not to rub. Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas on how to fix it?

Thanks!

some kind of hero...

Not True...

Quote Originally Posted by Sticks140
    I have a Jamis Dakar xlt that came with Hayes hydrolic brakes. I have not been able to adjust the brakes so they don't rub. My lbs told me that its almost impossible to get Hayes brakes not to rub. Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas on how to fix it?

Thanks!
    I don't think the brakes should rub. My Hayes took some fussing with, but they work fine without any rub. My riding buddies don't have a problem with theirs either... It did take some patience - I'm an amateur with disk brakes - I can't believe a LBS would have any problem.

Does the rotor need straightening?

Do the tabs need aligning?

This sounds like someone took the "L" out of "LBS"...

Tell me more...

GEVELTERSCHMIDT RACING

something
    Mar 2004
    I have the hydo hayes disc brakes on my bike and don't have any problems with them. If you need tips setting them up properly try the FAQ at the top right of this page also read the teck tips on http://www.hayesdiscbrake.com/

I am not an expert, but if you have specific questions there are lots of good people on these boards that will help. Just ask away.
    "POLICE STATION TOILET STOLEN ... Cops have nothing to go on."

mtbr member
    Jun 2004