mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Pairing BB7 calipers with Alfine Hub w/Center Lock?

I have BB7 calipers and 160mm rotors on my 2008 El Mariachi. I'm converting the rear wheel to an Alfine 8 hub which has Center Lock. I have no experience with Center Lock and am wondering if I can attach my BB7 rotor directly to this and all will work fine with my caliper? I've found some info on potential adapters but am unsure if required for my particular set-up. Any ideas appreciated. Thank you.

mtbr member
    You will need new rotors that use the Shimano center lock, the caliper will mount the same as long as the new rotors are the same size.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Just get the DT Swiss center lock - to - 6 bolt adapters and you're good to go. Or, really just one if you're only changing the rear.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Thank you both. In either solution I can avoid remounting caliper, correct?

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Western View Post
    Thank you both. In either solution I can avoid remounting caliper, correct?
    Pretty much, but you may have to adjust the caliper a bit. Good chance that the new hub (and hence, rotor) will not sit in the exact same plane as the old one. May have to move caliper a smidge inboard or outboard to account for the difference.

mtbr member
    Hi there,

Thanks for starting this thread. I have actually just done this (on a 2011 Surly Karate Monkey, replacing Surly single speed disk hub with Alfine + centerlock rotors), and it all feels fine.

However, I have noticed that despite replacing the Avid 160mm rotors with 160mm Shimano center-lock rotors, the 160mm Shimano rotors seem to be slightly larger

Before (Surly hub + 160mm Avid rotor)

2011 Surly Karate Monkey + Surly single speed hub + BB7 calipers + 160mm Avid rotors (Sapporo, Japan) by Robert Thomson

After (Shimano Alfine + 160mm center lock rotors)