mtbr member
    May 2009

Opinions on the best lightweight rotor for BB7's

Here are some opinions on rotors that I have run with the BB7's over the last 5 years. All have been run with organic pads. I am a former XC race expert that is older and 15 pounds heavier (155 lbs now). I no longer have time to race, and my 23 pound 4" full suspension bike would probably put me more into the trail rider category if you had to label me.

Avid G2- Heavy and a little noisy.
    G3- Better, but still heavy and not much noise improvement.
    Hayes- Much like the G3 in weight and design, but a little quieter.
    Cleansweep X- Best of the Avid I have tried, but the large BB7 pads overlap. Still a little noise, but very acceptable in performance and weight.

What are your thoughts and experiences with other 160 mm rotors for the BB7 that are around or below 100 grams like Avid HSX, Hope Floating, Aligator, KCNC, and others?

Always Learning
    Quote Originally Posted by TTTURNER View Post
    Here are some opinions on rotors that I have run with the BB7's over the last 5 years. All have been run with organic pads. I am a former XC race expert that is older and 15 pounds heavier (155 lbs now). I no longer have time to race, and my 23 pound 4" full suspension bike would probably put me more into the trail rider category if you had to label me.

Avid G2- Heavy and a little noisy.
    G3- Better, but still heavy and not much noise improvement.
    Hayes- Much like the G3 in weight and design, but a little quieter.
    Cleansweep X- Best of the Avid I have tried, but the large BB7 pads overlap. Still a little noise, but very acceptable in performance and weight.

What are your thoughts and experiences with other 160 mm rotors for the BB7 that are around or below 100 grams like Avid HSX, Hope Floating, Aligator, KCNC, and others?