mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Need bike mechanics input

I know there are a few here that work in a bike shop and I could use your input.
    I'm a mechanic with Target,have been for 4 yrs now.Built around 4000 bikes.My store recieved a new cruiser model and there are problems with the V brakes.The rims on this model are angled in unlike other bikes that have rim brakes where the rim is flat where the pad makes contact.There is only about 2mm of pad contact with the rim.When riding the bike and the brakes are applied you just keep going.The bike is unsafe to ride as it is and I refuse to sell it until the problem is resolved. I have spent a total of 2 1/2 hours building and trying to adjust the brakes on 2 different bikes.My opinion is that these are the wrong rims for these brakes.These rims are used on another one of their cruisers but it has a coaster brake.I'm hoping someone with experience in a bike shop can back me up.I have been in contact with the manufacture and as of yesterday they have determined that the brakes are fine.The bike passed their quality control.I emailed pics to them today to show them the problem.
    Any input would be appreciated.
    Need bike mechanics input-csc_0041_zpsdf9214ba.jpg
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Need bike mechanics input-csc_0031_zps844a4ee4.jpg  

mtbr member
    No mech here but It sure doesn't look proper but hard to tell especially the lower pic. If you can get some shots @ diff angles, ie above, front & back sides with good lighting.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    Looks to me like that rim is incompatible with rim brakes. It's not shaped properly, and the paint/finish appears to cover the side of the rim where the pure braking surface should be. Seems as if the manufacturer had a specification error. Good thing you were on the ball!

AM.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    A shot from different angles is impossible without professional lighting.These are the best out of many that I shot.The shadows cau