mtbr member
    Jun 2013

n00b question with adding rear disc caliper

ok so I picked up this bike today. It's a 2004 Gary Fisher Tarpon Silver Series (aluminium frame). The previous owner told me it had front & rear disc brakes installed and the rear caliper "broke". However, when I picked it up I noticed the bike had pull brakes installed on the rear and no caliper at all. he said when it broke he pulled it and put the pull brake back on. /shrug.

so I've NEVER dealt with disc brakes at all before and am a complete newbie at all of this so please pardon me if this is a completely stupid question.

How do I install a rear caliper? It uses Shimano BR-M415 (yes I know....) calipers and I can get a new one and I see the two holes that would most likely be used for the installation but there is a "quick release" lever that seems to be in the way of installing it.

Can this lever be replaced with something else that won't impede the installation of the caliper or am I just completely daft?n00b question with adding rear disc caliper-dscf6373.jpg

mtbr member
    May 2012

Re: n00b question with adding rear disc caliper

Just loosen the lever, turn it and fasten it again. It's really simple..

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    boy, do I feel stupid. LoL. awesome though, thank you very much! now to order my new caliper.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Quote Originally Posted by echarlie View Post
    boy, do I feel stupid. LoL. awesome though, thank you very much! now to order my new caliper.
    You need more that just the brake caliper. Your frame is missing the factory bolt-on disc brake mount.
    n00b question with adding rear disc caliper-post-24908-0-90751100-1312388507.jpg
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

GO BLUE!!
    Is that a crack on the upper bolt hole? If so, I would steer clear from mounting a disc caliper on there.
    I always wanted a Wookie, but I found out they weren't real.