Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2006

marta sl rotor, what's a good alternative?

i'm having a bit of trouble with my marta sl rotors, (the wavy jobs). the front in particular is causing my fork to judder, and it just doesn't feel good! could anyone recommend a good alternative?

It's about showing up.

How long have you had these installed.

What did you do to break them in?

mtbr member
    May 2007
    This actually sounds more like a set up problem. Are your mount tabs/posts properly faced and such?

You can run hayes, avid, formula rotors if you want. Or, the SL drilled rotors from magura will work. They are heavier, though.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    they're broken in, i've been using them for a couple of months now. regarding the set up, it is as should be...

the problem i have is with the magura 'ABS' effect that the wavy rotor gives. it is the front brake that i have the issue with, in particular the visible effect that it has on my fork!

so, i was thinking maybe hope mono mini, or formula rotors but, i'm not sure if the braking surface is sufficient?

mtbr member
    Just by looking at the rotor, I would venture to say that this ABS effect is caused every time the pad hits a rotor spoke which are close to being perpendicular to them.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by madskatingcow

thanks, that's very informative.

how did the brakes fair on your epic?

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by parkincake
    they're broken in, i've been using them for a couple of months now. regarding the set up, it is as should be...

the problem i have is with the magura 'ABS' effect that the wavy rotor gives. it is the front brake that i have the issue with, in particular the visible effect that it has on my fork!

so, i was thinking maybe hope mono mini, or formula rotors but, i'm not sure if the braking surface is sufficient?