mtbr member
    Feb 2004

New question here. Marta Rotor More Likely to Squeal than Regular Wavy?

I just installed a set of '04 Louise FR's and I exchanged the rear 180mm wavy rotor for a 160mm to keep from having to use the adapter. Universal Cycles sent me the Marta style 160mm rotor, instead of the regular 160mm rotor, and I'm wondering if I should send it back again. Will the Marta style rotor (no holes) tend to squeal more than the regular 160mm rotor?

LL

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

doesn't sound right to me . . .

Quote Originally Posted by Loco Louie
    I just installed a set of '04 Louise FR's and I exchanged the rear 180mm wavy rotor for a 160mm to keep from having to use the adapter. Universal Cycles sent me the Marta style 160mm rotor, instead of the regular 160mm rotor, and I'm wondering if I should send it back again. Will the Marta style rotor (no holes) tend to squeal more than the regular 160mm rotor?

LL
    I'm not an expert, but I'd check the rotor thickness against the one you have up front. Magura is real uptight about mixing things, they might think you have no warranty on something like that. At least I'd check and see if the pads might get past a thinner rotor and pop out past when they're worn.

Plus which, in order to cut corners, they made both calipers the same in `04, so you have to use spacers in the back anyway. My thoughts on that are if you're going to have an interface in there, you might as well make it an adapter.

The case for 160 in back is that the alignment has got to be less critical, especially if the rear of the bike is flexy. Otherwise why not 180?

Bodhisattva

No.

No. You should not experience additional squeal.
    Life....the original terminal illness

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Pads are wider than braking surface

Thanks for the replies. I rode around in the parking garage last night, giving the brakes a workout for almost an hour.

Observations:
    1) No squeal from the front at all.