mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Magura MT8 - Stopping Power

I've been using MT8 for the last 3 months and I'm unsatisfied with it's rear brake stopping power. It's very weak compared to the XTR I used before... sometimes on steep descents I even have the feeling I have no rear brakes at all.

Is there something I can do about it? Any dial or set up?
    (apart from try different and larger discs, which I already did...)

mtbr member
    You probably already know this, but like most brake related questions re "stopping power", are you sure it's not just a higher degree of modulation?
    Sometimes I've adjusted the front so that it won't "lock up" on loose (gravel) and when on hard pack it "feels" like there's not enough power. Just because you can't easily "lock up" doesn't mean it's a bad thing.

mtbr member

Magura MT8 - Stopping Power

Did you bed them in properly? The MT8's are great brakes, but they need to be bedded properly or they can underperform.

mtbr member
    I can lock up my 29" wheels anytime I want with my MT8's. When I first switched from XT's to these they felt weak but I later discovered that they just have better modulation vs on or off like the Xt's have.

mtbr member
    So the front brake has enough stopping power, but the rear does not?

Same sized rotors?

If you take the pads from the back and put them into the front, are the fronts now weak, or does it stay weak at the rear?

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    Quote Originally Posted by Bailey44 View Post
    I can lock up my 29" wheels anytime I want with my MT8's. When I first switched from XT's to these they felt weak but I later discovered that they just have better modulation vs on or off like the Xt's have.
    +1

or you probably got some oil or something on the pads/rotor ..?
    Going to try and bring Trail Tire TV back. go take a look... http://trailtiretv.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Apr 2012