Too Much Fun

New question here. Magura MT6 vs MT8 differences?

What, if any mechanical and/or functional differences are there between the Magura MT8 and MT6's?

As far as I can tell they are the same exact brake, with the MT8 being more carbon bits.

Is that it, are they functionally the same, with same lever adjustments etc? It looks like it's just a matter of more carbon, but thought I'd double check with the collective mind.

I'm new to the Magura product line. Thanks!
    - -benja- -

Missouri sucks...
    Jun 2009
    My understanding is the MT8 has carbon levers and the MT6 are alloy levers. Also, the MT6 matches my bike better

I'm sure there's more but that's all I know of...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by DFYFZX View Post
    My understanding is the MT8 has carbon levers and the MT6 are alloy levers.
    That is the big difference between the two. Also the MT8 has aluminum fitting bolts while the MT6 runs steel. I think that's it but check this link out for a side by side comparison: Compare MAGURA products: MAGURA - The Passion People![]=94399.
    2012 Intense M9
    2012 Pivot Mach 5.7 Carbon
    2008 Look 595
    2007 Custom Litespeed Sewanee

Missouri sucks...
    Jun 2009
    I compared them with your link and it looks like lever material and hardware material(alloy vs steel).

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by DFYFZX View Post
    I compared them with your link and it looks like lever material and hardware material(alloy vs steel).
    That's all I was able to find as well. I'm not sure of what the mounting bolts are either. I run a pair of Marta SL Magnesiums and they came stock with titanium bolts. I'm not sure what the price difference between the two systems is but for a carbon lever and aluminum bolts I would also wonder if it is indeed worth it.
    2012 Intense M9
    2008 Look 595

MTBR Member
    Caliper and rotor bolts are supposed to be aluminum....though my MT8s came with steel rotor bolts(which I prefer anyways).