mtbr member

Magura MT-8 vs Formula R1

Building up a weight weenie carbon 29'er hardtail and looking for recommendations between these two brakes. I have no experience with Magura but I have spent some time on Formulas The Ones. Thoughts? Magura MT-8 vs Formula R1-formula-r1.jpgMagura MT-8 vs Formula R1-magura-mt-8.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I love my Formula rx brakes but like you have no experience with magura's.

Being all else equal and you building a weight weenie I would pick the lightest one.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    I have not used the Formula, but I do have MT8. Once properly bled, these brakes have the best feel of any brake I have used. Super modulation. I have also heard good things about the Formula's.

singletrack bound
    I ride the R1's on my highball and they work great. Sometimes they can be a little finicky with rotor/caliper rub and alignment but once dialed the are great stoppers!
    On my steel HT I ride the Magura Marta SL's and they are a sweet braking system. Pretty much set and forget type. I just went to a 180 rotor on the front. Great Modulation and nice predictable stopping power. I would rate them right up there with the R1's in over all performance. Can't speak for the MT8's though but Magura does a good job. Count your grams........
    Tone~
    Sorrel Seeker !!

mtbr member

I have used R1 and R1 Race on several bikes and love them. Great power, super light, and I love the lever. Had MT 8 and didn't care for the lever shape. Power was pretty good. Good modulation. I did run larger rotors on the MT8 than the R1. I got away with 160/140 on the R1.

I would get R1 again in a heartbeat.

Currently using Hope stealth race X2 on my fat bike and XC bike and am impressed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MTBR Member
    R1's -- more powerful, very on/off feel, tight pad clearance(so can be finicky like previous poster mentioned).