The Riddler

Magura Marta SL Setup/Bleeding Tips

I will be getting my marta SL's soon and I was wondering if anyone had some tips to offer on setup and/or bleeding. I have some good experience with bleeding the XTRs so I know what i am doing for the most part, but installation is another thing. I'd appreciate any help.

Bodhisattva
    Have you checked the Magura Cult Website?

It's the most comprehensive site for all info relating to Maggies including installation & bleeding.
    Life....the original terminal illness

The Riddler
    didn't know about it. i'll check it out. thanks!

(aka SS_MB-7)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaparzo
    I will be getting my marta SL's soon and I was wondering if anyone had some tips to offer on setup and/or bleeding. I have some good experience with bleeding the XTRs so I know what i am doing for the most part, but installation is another thing. I'd appreciate any help.
    In addition to the Cult's bleeding tips, here's what I did with my 2 sets of Marta SLs:

As brakes go, the Martas rank amongst the easiest to bleed. Over the years, I've bled: Hope C2s, Hope Minis, Hope Mono Minis, Formula B4s, Formula B4 SLs, Formula B4 SL+ and Shimano XTR/XTs.

Loosen master-cylinder and rotate until the reservoir is level. Tighten the master-cylinder.

Position the rear caliper so the hose connection is at the highest point...you might find that using only 1 of the caliper's bolts will allow you to tighten the caliper in the required position.

Fill syringe with Magura blood, remove caliper bleed screw and attach the syringe hose. Magura recommends using the small tiny o-ring, but most here have found that NOT using the o-ring creates a better bleed. When I used the o-ring, it created thousands of tiny air bubbles...when it was not used, there were no air bubbles.

Gently loosen the tiny Torx screws in the master-cylinder reservoir cap, remove cap and rubber membrane and set aside.