Yo.

Magura HS33, Marta lever compatibility question

Hey all,

I'm currently running Avid brakes, mullet-style, on my singlespeed - BB7 up front, SD Ultimate out back. I would like to upgrade to hydros, but the frame only has v-brake posts. So I thought I would mount a Magura HS33 out back (have a set already), and pick up a Marta/Louise for the front. Problem is, I'd rather have the same brake levers, which wouldn't be the case if I used the brakes as set up out-of-the-box.

So, my questions are:

1.) Is it possible to use an HS33 front lever with the disc caliper? The HS33 lever is one of the newer ones, with the angled master cylinder and the TPA wheel integrated into the lever blade.

2.) If this can in fact be done, is it something I should undertake at home or let my LBS handle?

As for background, I was a shop and race mechanic for a long time, but mostly on the road side of things and when cable-actuated MTB brakes were the height of technology. I have no experience with hydraulic brakes, and my experience with my hydraulic forks has been playing with the adjustments and maintenance-type stuff. I'm good at following directions, and my home shop is well stocked (in a roadie and old-school MTB sort of way).

BTW, I did a search and only came up with this old thread.

Any advice or anecdotal experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

E
    Quote Originally Posted by JonathanGennick View Post
    I am a poser. But forums.poser.com doesn't seem to exist, so I come here instead.

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    You might find some useful info on this link: http://www.support-english.magura.com/

Yo.
    Quote Originally Posted by cobba
    You might find some useful info on this link: http://www.support-english.magura.com/
    Thanks for the link. Forgot about Magura's own forums.

Found this thread about a rim-bake to rim-brake conversion.