ntj
    guidedbybicycles

Mag bleeding problem

Hi there,

For one reason or another, I've been doomed not to ride my bike. First it was my XC 700SL, now that I've got that back, my front brake has died for no apparent reason that I can see.

The lever on my Hayes Mag XC now just goes to the bar for no apparent reason. It bled up really easy when I got it, and I've been riding it for 5 months without issue.

There are no visible leaks, but when I bleed it now, it works OK a couple of times, then the lever goes back to the bar. When I bleed it, it looks like it's almost done at the lever, then loads of bubbles start coming out of it, way more than the brake line or caliper could hold.

Could this be a leaking master cylinder? Is it hard to replace if it is? Help! I want to ride soon.

Thanks!

Meh.
    Make sure all the fittings are tight. Make sure the piston seals aren't leaking. Make sure the caliper bolts are nice and tight and it's not leaking from between the caliper halves. Sometimes a line could split underneath the outside casing and leak.

It does sound like it could be a MC issue. I've got a Mag MC if you need it, PM for details.

How are you bleeding it? Just try using a big syringe full of DOT fluid; and push fluid through from the caliper end.

No Fear
    So much hayes issues on a hayes sponsored forum

ntj
    guidedbybicycles
    To be fair, I've done heaps of riding on hayes hfx brakes and I've never had a problem before. They've always been cheap, powerful and reliable, but nothing is perfect. I guess the number of issues is down to their popularity.

I'm just using the stock bleed kit, it could be improved, but it does the job.

Meh.
    Ditch the squeeze bottle. A syringe works much better, and quicker too.

ntj
    guidedbybicycles
    I'll give it a shot, thanks. Does it make the bleeding proceedure any different with the syringe?

Also, is the mc swap a big deal to do?

Meh.