mtbr member
    Sep 2012

M666 Brakes rubbing on rotor

I'm new to hydraulic brakes and have just finished installing a set on Shimano M666 brakes on my bike. After getting everything all set up and the calipers centered, the rotors are rubbing on the pads and making a sound that reminds me of of something being sanded. This can't be normal. Any ideas on how to fix the issue?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Readjust the calipers. Place the bike in a stand, so the wheels/calipers are at least close to eye level. Get a good vantage point from right behind the caliper, preferably with some light spilling through from the other side. Give the wheel a spin and watch the gap(s). If you only see one gap, you will need to readjust the caliper. If you see two gaps for most of the time, you will need to true the rotor (it doesn't sound like this is the case, so I won't go into it).

Loosen the bolts on the calipers until they move freely without and force, then grab the brake lever (without the wheel spinning, of course). Gently snug up the bolts to just a little bit more than hand tight. At this point, you should be able to use your fingers to position the caliper until you see a gap on either side of the rotor. Give it a spin to make sure that it isn't rubbing, then hold the brake lever tightly, and start tightening the bolts, alternating one to the other, but not tightening either all at once.

If this doesn't solve the problem, your brake mounts, be they posts or IS, will need to be faced.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    I'll played with it a bit again this morning and the pistons aren't retracting. What's the fix for that?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by swcreates View Post
    I'll played with it a bit again this morning and the pistons aren't retracting. What's the fix for that?
    Are they new? If so, they shouldn't do that out of the box. You didn't squeeze the lever without a disc rotor or pad spacer in between the pads did you?