XTR is the shizz-nizz...

Cool-blue Rhythm Just got my Juicy Carbons last night!!! Questions...

Newbie here,

I just got my Avid juicy Carbons last night and ohh *drool* are they sweet!!!!
    Anyway, they came with 203mm rotors. I was comparing them to my 6" rotors and boy do they dwarf them...

So...
    -In your opinion, are 203mm rotors drastic overkill for AM and trail riding (I think so; but they look so sweet!!!)...?
    -I don't even think the 203mm rotor has enough clearance in the rear, I was thinking to swap it for a 185mm (is that overkill also)? 203mm up front/185mm rear. Any advantage to having different sizes front to rear?
    -What is the benefit of big rotors other than heat dissipation (for DHers) and extra stopping power (again for DHers) as opposed to the standard 160mm?
    -Should I bleed the brakes before using them? The instructions say not to unless I break into the lines (shortening them, etc).

Thanks for the help...

neutiquam erro
    Why did you choose the 203s with the Juicys to start with? Did you not have an option for some reason?

Bigger rotors are good for DHers for the reasons you mentioned (heat dissapation), and bigger riders also like them too - bigger rotors for bigger stopping power for bigger bubbas.

Most <180 lb (btw, that's just a weight I'm pulling out of my butt - so take it FWIW) straight-XC riders are fine with 160s front & back, but it's really just a matter of preference. Folks go with as small rotor as sensible to keep the overall weight down. Unless you are a big clyde, 203s are overkill for just bopping around the trails, IMHO.

Remember - new rotors will mean new adaptors, so be sure to get those too if you decide to swap.

Cheers, Chris
    [SIZE=2]Now is the time on Sprockets when we hammer.[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=1]'05 Blur Classic (1x9) || '06 SIR9 (SS) || '06 Brompton P6L[/SIZE]

XTR is the shizz-nizz...
    I got the brake set on Ebay and they came with 203mm...it was a good price!!!