mtbr member
    May 2011

Just got BB7's and need help

Yes, I have trolled the forums and read a lot of good tips but for some reason I cannot get my bb7s to work properly. I loosen the caliper bolt so it can move freely, untighten the wire tension bolt. I then try and dial the pads by using the red knobs. I think I am confusing myself though, which knobs are which? Is the smaller one the outer adjustment knob and is the larger one (closer to the wheel) the inner adjustment knob? I just can’t seem to get them centered and its annoying me.
    This is my first time having a decent pair of breaks so I am new to it. I have the speed dial levers as well. thanks for your help!

human dehumidifier
    The knobs move the pads on the same side the knob is on. Run the wheel side knob in 3-4 clicks, then run the outside knob in until the pad is tight on the rotor. Tighten up the CPS bolts, slowly so they don't twist the caliper. Don't get carried away, they don't have to be super tight. Use a torque wrench if you have one. Now back the inside knob up two clicks, and back the outside one up until the pad doesn't rub. That'll at least get you in the ball park.

You don't need to mess with the cable attachment at all once you've got it tight unless the cable stretches. Just run the cable, pull it tight while making sure the caliper arm is relaxed (not moving the pads), and cinch it down.
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity - W.B. Yeats

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    Have you read the Installation and Setup Guide ?

http://cdn.sram.com/sites/default/files/techdocs/2006_BB5and7_English.pdf

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by wv_bob View Post