mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Juicy 3s - Zero stopping power at rear

I just bought a used FSR XC Comp with Juicy 3s front and rear and while the front will lock the wheel in a heartbeat the rear will not slow the bike let alone lock the wheel. If I spin the rear wheel and apply full force to the break lever it will stop the wheel, but only just.

I'm new to disc brakes in general and I have no idea what the most likely cause of this problem may be. I note that the rear brake resevoir does have a small fluid leak (from the cover joint upon pressure on the lever), could it be something as simple as needing a top-up?

I haven't tried cleaning the discs with alcohol or sanding pads yet but my sense is while contaminants (oils etc) may degrade performance they surely could cause this kind of a failure - or could they?

From what the seller told me I don't believe the bike has been used enough for the pads to have worn - say around 20 rides, and nothing to demanding. Any thoughts before I take it into my LBS for a diagnosis?

Thanks in advance

David

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    I would fix the leak, top off the system and bleed the rears. Probably wouldn't be a bad idea to check the fluid level and bleed the fronts too just to be safe.

mtbr member
    If your right lever feels softer than your left, then it's likely all you need is a bleed. If it's firm just no power, you probably have a pad contamination issue. Also what the seller says isn't really that reliable not to say that he lied. People tend to bend the truth a little or to me, a lot. If you've heard of JRA, it stands for "just riding along." It's used by many people to describe what they're doing when a wheel collapsed from under them, a frame snapped in half etc. Turned out their JRA means jumping off a house.

Anyways, it seems you haven't really tried anything yet. Don't give up and take it to LBS so fast.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009