mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Juicy 3 assistance please

Hi, mtb noob here, hoping for some assistance with a brake related problem.

Long story short grease got on my rotor/pads. Lost braking power.

Degreased the heck out of everything. Very very minor improvement. Huge noise from both ends.

Friend suggested air in the lines, but I really didn't think that would be likely - both the front and the back went bad at exactly the same time.

Bike shop said that the pads might be 'contaminated' and suggested that I change them.

Changed the fronts, a small amount of fluid leaked out during the process.

Reassembled, and there is definitely an improvement, but nowhere near what it was like when I first got the bike (second hand).

Any ideas? Pics attached just in case there is something very obvious
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Juicy 3 assistance please-p1020550.jpg  

Juicy 3 assistance please-p1020549.jpg  

Juicy 3 assistance please-p1020548.jpg  

mtbr member
    .snip. double post
    Duct tape iz like teh Force. It has a Lite side and a Dark side and it holdz the Universe together.

mtbr member
    No brake fluid should leak out when you change pads.

Did you degrease/clean the rotors before installing the new brake pads. Wipe
    with simple green and a rag. Then wipe rotor with iso alcohol and a clean rag.

If you have air in the system you can pull the lever to the bars and no braking occurs. If you "pump" the lever the brakes start to work. If you have air in the sytem then they will need a "bleed". If the bike is second hand it might be worth bleeding the brakes anyway. Brake fluid doesn't last for ever. If you haven't done anything but change the pads you shouldn't have air in the system

You need to "bed" in new pads before they will work to there full potential. It can take 10 to 20 stops before they work. If you don't know how to bed in new brakes google how to.