mtbr member
    Feb 2005

I'm new to disc brakes...help me out!

Hey guys...I eventually plan on getting some disc brakes, but there are so many out there. Hayes seems the best way to go. But which Hayes model would you reccomend for someone that wants good performance, but not with spending a ton of money. What model would you reccomend, and how much can I expect to pay for them?

Bad Case of the Mondays
    Quote Originally Posted by NDPitch
    Hey guys...I eventually plan on getting some disc brakes, but there are so many out there. Hayes seems the best way to go. But which Hayes model would you reccomend for someone that wants good performance, but not with spending a ton of money. What model would you reccomend, and how much can I expect to pay for them?
    Good performance without a ton of money = Avid Mechanical in my book.

mtbr member
    NDPitch,
    Did you get some new brakes yet? When it comes to disc brakes, I don't know if there is a bad choice. It's a matter of good, better, and best. The Avid mech.'s are fine and economical I might add, but you're losing one of the advantages of going to discs: ease of use. Squeeze the lever on some hydro's and you'll see. It's just sooo smooth and easy. No effort at all, which means no tired fingers on long rides.
    Good riding!
    ...the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong...Ecc9:11

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    Hmm....yeah. I might go to a bike shop and ask if I can try out two different bikes. One with hydros and the other with mechs. Then I can prob make a better judgement. Oh, by the way...how do you feel about buying disc brakes off Ebay; new ones that have supposedly never been used. Also...how hard are they to install?

"El Whatever"
    I gotta admit it.... Magura Julies are the bang for the buck. Cheap as an Avid Mech but still a hydro.

That said, you just can't go wrong with Avid mechs.... sorry for the word and not making any refrence to you or anyone, but they're idiot-proof.