mtbr member

If you could only pick one..Which one?

Im trying to decide between which brakes to buy? im stuck..so what would you guys buy?

1st= Avid Code 5 Disc Brake 2010

2nd. Choice=Avid Elixir R Disc Brake 2009

Any pros and cons would be great thanks guys!!

mtbr member
    I already had Elixir's (185mm F/R) on my trail bike went back and forth between the two for my freeride bike and decided to go for the Elixir R's (203mm F/R)

I never used the Codes but the Elixir's have been perfect with huge amounts of stopping power and the modulation is awesome.... I can lock a wheel with any crappy brake but with the Elixirs I can feel when it before it breaks loose so for be great modulation=more usable power.

I am 220 pounds and have not had any over heating, brake fade issues of any kind

mtbr member
    yea im around the same size...and looking to get 203's but im concerned bc its dwn hill time and i need brakes to keep up...im new to buying brakes and kinda lost

mtbr member
    My Elixirs work perfectly with one finger for the DH parks I go to (Wisp, 7 Springs, Snowshoe) They say the Codes are going to resist over heating better but I do not have 20 min DH runs around here so its not an issue for me.

Some brake talk in the DH/FR forum
    Question: the best braking sistem for DH bikes

Quote Originally Posted by h2bmess
    yea im around the same size...and looking to get 203's but im concerned bc its dwn hill time and i need brakes to keep up...im new to buying brakes and kinda lost

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Lee
    My Elixirs work perfectly with one finger for the DH parks I go to (Wisp, 7 Springs, Snowshoe) They say the Codes are going to resist over heating better but I do not have 20 min DH runs around here so its not an issue for me.

Some brake talk in the DH/FR forum
    Question: the best braking sistem for DH bikes
    Thanks!!

mtbr member
    bumping for any other opinions

mtbr member
    May 2007
    JUst FYI